Visit

Grand Falls

Living in

Grand Falls

Municipal

Services

Municipal

Council

History

Acadian pioneers, French Canadians, the Irish, the Scottish and English Loyalists have all contributed to the development of this community since the 19th century. In 1686, Monsignor de Saint-Vallier, second Bishop of Quebec, was the first to mention Grand Falls in his writings. A commemorative monument was erected in 1986 at the entrance to Davis Park.

 

In 1791, Thomas Carleton, first Governor of New Brunswick, had a military post built, which was named after him. Known as Colebrooke until 1890, the town was next named Grand Falls because of its great falls.

 

The native name given to Grand Falls was Chicanekapeag, meaning giant destroyer. Here, the Saint John river ceases to be the natural border between the United States and Canada.

 

 

1/12

131 Pleasant Street, Suite 200

Grand Falls, NB

Canada E3Z 1G6

vgs-tgf@nb.aibn.com

Tel.: 506.475.7777 

Fax: 506.475.7779

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

131, rue Pleasant, Suite 200

Grand-Sault, NB

Canada E3Z 1G6

vgs-tgf@nb.aibn.com

Tél. : 506.475.7777 

Téléc. : 506.475.7779

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean

For optimum viewing experience, use Google Chrome / Pour une expérience optimale, utiliser Google Chrome 

Note: The Town of Grand Falls is not responsible for the content of external links / Note: La Ville de Grand-Sault n'est aucunement responsable du contenu des sites web externes.

VkvlyKCR